Continuous Integration

This blog post is about Continuous Integration and why we need it. I will test it on my github repo.

The first step is to connect github and TravisCl. You can follow the steps here. Next, create a .travis.yml file in your repo. After adding the file, automate your build. Add some automated scripts for your project, which TravisCl can run on every check-in. After completing the above steps, make your code testable. Write some tests and pick a testing framework. Run your test locally and on TravisCl. TravisCI will run your build/test cycle every time you commit new code on master or open a Pull Request.

I have seen the TravisCl before, but never thought to look into it and what it actually does. After an interactive lecture, I truly understand the need and benefits of TravisCl automated tests and why is it so popular among open source projects.

Lets talk about the hurdles that I faced during the process. First thing I had no idea where to start, after reviewing the notes and by looking at peers repository. It gave me some idea on what I have to do. I didn’t succeed in my first attempt on TravisCl. After making a couple of changes I was able to pass the test. The good thing about TravisCl testing that it will provide you a fair direction where your code is failing. Once you know where you did wrong it is easy to solve the problem.

For sure I know there is still a lot to learn, but having a small but successful step keeps us motivated to go further.

Leave a comment